The Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Scientific Discovery and Technological Innovation

The prize is given every two years and carries a cash prize, medal and a certificate.  It is named in honour of His Excellency Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, the former President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, in recognition of his exemplary statesmanship and his contribution to the development of science on the continent.

The prize is given to a scientist in any of these fields:

  • Biotechnology
  • Energy
  • Information and Communication Technologies
  • Material Sciences.

Winners are individuals whose scientific discoveries or technological innovations have helped to improve their societies.




The late Prof Philippe Rasoanaivo, a phytochemist from Madagascar won the Olusegun Obasanjo Prize in 2015 for using traditional medicine to improve efficacy of existing drugs for brain disorders and also treating sexual dysfunction among men. 





Viness Pillay, a Professor in pharmacy at South Africa’s University of the Witwatersrand, received the Obasanjo prize in 2013 for his pioneering work in developing the RapiDiss Wafer Technology, an oral formula for administering ARVs to children.





Slim and Quarraisha Abdool Karim Salim Abdool Karim and Quarraisha Abdool Karim received the inaugural Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Scientific Discovery and Technological Innovation in 2011 for their highly acclaimed work on the use of the microbicide, Tenofovir gel, to prevent HIV infection and genital herpes in women. Salim Abdool Karim and Quarraisha Abdool Karim  both work for the Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa  as Director and Associate Scientific Director, respectively.



How to get involved

Email to receive our updates and to enquire about how to become a fellow or a young affiliate and the Olusegun Obasanjo prize.