The AAS is governed by:

The General Assembly

Consists of AAS fellows and meets regularly to elect its president and members of the Governing Council and to approve the Academy’s programmes. Its current president is Aderemi Kuku, a prolific mathematician with over 40 years of teaching and research experience. Kuku has also published extensively.

The Governing Council

Consists of 13 officers elected by the General Assembly to review and assess if the Academy’s programmes are in line with the priorities of the General Assembly. The Council also conducts the election of new fellows, prepares the agenda for the General Assembly, reviews and approves the selection of affiliate members and appoints auditors.

The Management Committee (MC)

Consists of the President, the Secretary General, the Treasurer and the Executive Director. The MC oversees the work of other committees, which may be appointed by the Governing Council, coordinates fundraising and manages the Endowment Fund, among other responsibilities.

The secretariat 

Led by the executive director, Berhanu Abegaz, implements the AAS’ programmes.