Benmouna, Mustapha, Prof.

Polymer Physics
Born in 1946, Algeria (residing in Morocco)

Prof. Benmouna obtained his Master Degree in 1977 in USA and two PhDs in Nuclear Engineering in USA (1979) and in Physics in France in 1984. He served as Researcher at CNRS, associate Professor at the University of Tlemcen of Algeria in 1981 and became Professor in 1986. 

He is currently professor of Physics in the Faculty of Sciences at the University of Tlemecen, Algeria; Director of Macromolecular Research Laboratory; visiting Professor at the Mac-Planck-Institut fur polymerforschung in Mainz, the University of Lille and the University of Dunkerque. He has held many previous positions including visiting Professorships at University of East Anglia and Food Research Institute, University of Konstanz, the Centre de Recherche sur les Macromolecules in Strasbourg.

His membership includes: Academie Francophone d'Ingenieurs, New York Academy of Sciences, the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS). He has 120 publications.

Read less

Read more

Fayçal Djeffal, Dr

Fellow of AAS since 2014
Micro/Nanoelectronics Current
Born in 1975

Dr. Djeffal has served at the University of Batna since 2003. He is considered a pioneer in the application of Soft-Computing-based techniques for the study and modeling of nanoscale electronic circuit and was the first to launch Soft-Computing-based nanoelectronics modeling. His research group developed a series of novel Soft-Computing-based approaches for the investigation of nano/microelectronic devices that are now widely employed in many research laboratories.

In 2009, Djeffal and his group at LEPCM Laboratory started using Multi-Objective-based optimization techniques to design the nanoscale circuits and photovoltaic devices. They, first, demonstrated the existence of optimized nanostructures configurations. He has published more than 150 journal and conference papers and author of some books and book-chapters in the field of nano/microelectronics and soft-computing. He has supervised 15 Engineering, 12 Masters and 10 PhD these students and is a reviewer of many journals and conferences.
Recognitions: membership in national and other academies, prizes, awards, etc

  • Member of Arab-German Academy of Sciences and Humanities (AGYA), 2013, Berlin, Germany.
  • Young TWAS-Fellow, 2013, Italy.
  • Senior Member of IEEE (IEEE-SM), 2013, USA
  • Shoman Award for Arab Researchers - Engineering Sciences- (2011), Jordan.                                            
  • Microsoft-TWAS-AAS Award (2010), Kenya.                                                                                                       
  • Certificate of Merit for Best paper, World Congress of Engineering (WCE’2013), London (2013), UK.

Read less

Read more

Salim A Messaoudi, Prof

Fellow of AAS since 2014
Mathematical Sciences
Born in 1960

Prof Messaoudi was hired at the University of Biskra near his home city and left Algeria for Libya and Jordan for short periods and then joined KFUPM in Saudi Arabia, where he has been for the past 18 years. He has directed more than 25 research projects sponsored by either KFUPM or Industry like SABIC and supervised 9 PhD and 11 MSc students.
He has been a main speaker in conferences, has published more than 140 publications, and is a member of Editorial board member of five journals, and several visits to abroad universities and institutions).

As a result of active participation in teaching, research and committee services, Salim has won many prizes. Namely, he was awarded the university's "Excellence in Research Award "for the years: 2003, 2009, 2014, the best Project Award for the years 2006 and 2009 and most importantly the Shoman Arab Young Researchers (2005) and King Abdullah Award for translation (2014).  He also earned more than 1000 non-self-citations which show the impact and importance of his work. In a recent study by the Arab Scientific Community Organization, Salim was among the first eight Excellent Arab Math Researchers and his name appeared in the list of highly cited researchers (2014).

Read less

Read more