Andriambololona, Raoelina, Prof.

Fellow of AAS since 1985 (Founding Fellow); Theoretical Physics
Born in 1936, Madagascar

Prof. Andriambololona was educated at the University of Madagascar, and the University of Aix Marseille - France in 1956 where he obtained his Doctorate in Physics in 1967.

He became Professor in 1977 and served as Director of Physics Department in Antananarivo. He is the founding Director General of “Institut National des Sciences et Techniques Nucléaires” (INSTN) of Madagascar.

He is TWAS Fellow, founding vice president of AAS and member of the New York Academy of Sciences. He is a member of the scientific association AFRA and has 209 publications (2009). His research interest involve: Elementary particles physics – Quantum Field Theory – Relativity – Quantum Mechanics, Nuclear Physics, X- Ray Fluorescence Analysis – Spectroscopy Analysis of Radioactive and non-radioactive Malagasy ores; Radiation Protection – Environment Study. His honours include: Fulbright exchange Professor of Milwaukee University, USA. He was awarded the “Grand Croix de l’Ordre National Malgache”.

Read less

Read more

Andrianamananjara, Rajoana, Prof.

Fellow of AAS since 2006; Economics
Born in 1943, Madagascar

Prof Andrianamananjara was educated in the USA; masters in International Affairs at George Washington University (1967) and Economics at the University of Michigan (1969) and a PhD in Philosophy of Economics at the University of Michigan (1971). 

He is the Founding Director- General of the Institute of Madagascar for Techniques of Planning (IMaTeP). He started working at the International Monetary Fund (1972). He became Adviser at the Directorate of Planning; Group of African Countries (1973 - 1975) and of the Prime Minister of Madagascar (1988 - 1991).

He was Alternate-Governor of the World Bank in USA, IMF Deputy for Reform of the International Monetary System. His research interests include: the development planning and basic component of an economy.

He has received many awards: Knight of the Order of Merit (Madagascar); Distinguished AFGRAD Alumni Awards of the America Institute of the USA. He has 9 publications and he is President of Madagascar’s National Academy of Arts, Letters and Sciences since 2002.

Read less

Read more